Skip to Content

Disneynature’s Monkey Kingdom Movie Review

Disneynature’s Monkey Kingdom features a true story about Maya and her son Kip, as they journey through life-changing choices. Read my full Disneynature’s Monkey Kingdom Movie Review plus learn an interesting behind-the-scenes fact about the film you won’t find anywhere else.

Monkey Kingdom | Nature | Animals | In honor of Disneynature Monkey Kingdom, we visited the Los Angeles Zoo to see several species of monkeys up close. Check out the video here of the hilarious singing Siamang duet!

Disneynature Monkey Kingdom Event

In every moment in life, we are given opportunities to rise above our circumstances or to allow us to be engulfed in them. Maya is a hero and out of all the odds stacked against her, she found a way to make her and her son’s life better by just pushing forward.

Driven by the unconditional LOVE she had for Kip her son she was able to make life-changing choices that not only proved how brave she was but how heroic she would truly be.

Grab all of the details about the #AvengersEvent in LA trip, including celebrity interviews with the cast and directors. Along with more fun events that happened during my trip.

Disneynature's Monkey Kingdom features a true story about Maya and her son Kip, as they journey through life-changing choices. Read my full Disneynature's Monkey Kingdom Movie Review plus learn an interesting behind-the-scenes fact about the film you won't find anywhere else.

Attending The Monkey Kingdom Event

During my recent adventure to Los Angeles during Disneynature’s Monkey Kingdom Event. I was invited to screen this wonderful movie in the ABC Building, along with some amazing bloggers/ new friends. I’m in the pink on the right back row. Speaking of the ABC TV building, it has changed throughout the years! View all of the other times I visited the ABC TV Building.

Check out my Must See #MonkeyKingdom Themed Trip To The #LAZoo!

Disneynature's Monkey Kingdom features a true story about Maya and her son Kip, as they journey through life-changing choices. Read my full Disneynature's Monkey Kingdom Movie Review plus learn an interesting behind-the-scenes fact about the film you won't find anywhere else.

About Disneynature’s Monkey Kingdom

Life is an adventure for Maya, the clever and resourceful blonde-bobbed monkey in Monkey Kingdom, Disneynature’s new feature film set among ancient ruins in the storied jungles of South Asia. Maya’s world is forever changed when she welcomes her son, Kip, into her complicated extended family.

Like all families, Maya’s has more than its share of colorful personalities, and she’s determined to give her son a leg up in the world. When their longtime home at Castle Rock is taken over by powerful neighboring monkeys.

Maya’s whole family is forced to relocate, where she uses her street smarts and ingenuity to lead them to untapped resources amidst strange new creatures and unsettling surroundings.

Disneynature's Monkey Kingdom features a true story about Maya and her son Kip, as they journey through life-changing choices. Read my full Disneynature's Monkey Kingdom Movie Review plus learn an interesting behind-the-scenes fact about the film you won't find anywhere else.

Monkey Kingdom

Ultimately, they will all have to work together to reclaim Castle Rock, where Maya can hopefully realize her dreams for her son’s future. Featuring a rich cast of characters, including a mischievous mongoose, simple-minded langur monkeys, predatory leopards, and monitor lizards. “Monkey Kingdom” is directed by Mark Linfield (“Chimpanzee,” “Earth”) and co-directed by Alastair Fothergill (“Chimpanzee,” “Bears”).

With music from award-winning composer Harry Gregson-Williams (“The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe,” “Shrek” movies), Disneynature’s eighth True Life Adventure—the follow-up to 2014’s “Bears”—swings into theaters April 17, 2015. For more information about the film and the conservation program, go to www.disney.com/monkeykingdom

Disneynature's Monkey Kingdom features a true story about Maya and her son Kip, as they journey through life-changing choices. Read my full Disneynature's Monkey Kingdom Movie Review plus learn an interesting behind-the-scenes fact about the film you won't find anywhere else.

Maya Plush Doll Available at The Disney Store

Want your very own Maya or Kip Plush Doll? Right now if you purchase a Kip or Maya Plush doll Disney Store will also donate $1 to Conservation International for every Disneynature plush purchased between 3/13/2015 and 5/14/2015, with a minimum donation of $2000.

Disneynature's Monkey Kingdom features a true story about Maya and her son Kip, as they journey through life-changing choices. Read my full Disneynature's Monkey Kingdom Movie Review plus learn an interesting behind-the-scenes fact about the film you won't find anywhere else.

Disney Nature’s Monkey Kingdom Movie Review

I absolutely LOVED this movie! I think I was literally in about 10 minutes of the movie and forgot it was a documentary when I say this it’s a good I FORGOT. I felt as though I was thrown into a Disneynature version of Cinderella’s story, yet this was Maya’s Story.

What I found beautiful about this movie was that not only was Maya the star of this unscripted film but she literally did not speak a word during the entire film yet you felt as though she was talking to you throughout the film. Might I add Tina Fey did an amazing job narrating this film and her playful and soft tone brought a lot of humor and light to the film?

As a mother or father, we learn about this unconditional love Maya experiences the moment all of our little ones are born and can very much relate to her excitement and sense of responsibility she felt once Kip arrived. The pain and struggles she went through to provide for him is spot on to whaweus human mothers sacrifice every single day.

As with many societies, Maya was subjected to the hierarchy of which she was born in and fought hard to change that once Kip was born. I would hate to give away many of the high (exciting!) and low (heart-wrenching!) points of this movie AND HOPE YOU DO GO SEE IT but just so you know I cried tears of joy, heartache and excitement throughout the film.

Disneynature's Monkey Kingdom features a true story about Maya and her son Kip, as they journey through life-changing choices. Read my full Disneynature's Monkey Kingdom Movie Review plus learn an interesting behind-the-scenes fact about the film you won't find anywhere else.

Interesting Fact Disneynature’s Monkey Kingdom

Nothing in this film is staged or scripted, in part of the movie the filmmakers actually asked the “humans” to not bother the monkeys if they would steal food. The villagers were told they would be fully reimbursed for everything taken by the monkeys and wanted to see how they acted in a natural environment. So in actuality even in the scenes where humans were featured they were not enlisted or cast in any scenes.

Disneynature's Monkey Kingdom features a true story about Maya and her son Kip, as they journey through life-changing choices. Read my full Disneynature's Monkey Kingdom Movie Review plus learn an interesting behind-the-scenes fact about the film you won't find anywhere else.

Disneynature’s Monkey Kingdom Now Available on DVD and Blu-ray

This mom is nothing but happy to recommend this movie to your family! My kids love animals so for them to see a movie with nothing but Monkey’s, excites them in a way that I could not explain. Grab your little ones’ moms and dads and head to your nearest theater, I would hate for you to miss this must-see Live-Action Monkey Movie.

Disneynature's Monkey Kingdom features a true story about Maya and her son Kip, as they journey through life-changing choices. Read my full Disneynature's Monkey Kingdom Movie Review plus learn an interesting behind-the-scenes fact about the film you won't find anywhere else.
(Me and Maya Eating Lunch Together)

ALSO! For every ticket sold opening week (April 17-23, 2015), Disneynature will make a donation to Conservation International to help protect monkeys and other endangered species in their natural habitats.

WOW, so us purchasing a ticket during the first week the movie opens helps save endangered species! How awesome and helpful is that! Imagine how you and your family can be a part of something so big and important for nature and your family.

So pack up your kid’s parents and check out this beautiful and fun MonkeyKingdom movie near you and help save some Monkeys AND provide your family with a Family Night To Remember!

Website and Mobile Site: www.disney.com/monkeykingdom
Like us on Facebook: Facebook.com/Disneynature
Follow us on Twitter: twitter.com/Disneynature
Follow Disneynature on Instagram: https://instagram.com/disneynature

Genre:                                                  True Life Adventure
Rating:                                                  TBD                             
U.S. Release Date:                                April 17, 2015
Director:                                               Mark Linfield
Co-Director:                                          Alastair Fothergill
Producers:                                            Mark Linfield, Alastair Fothergill

Disclosure: I will be provided an all expense paid trip to L.A to facilitate the review of  Monkey Kingdom, no additional compensation was received.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Angie K

Saturday 25th of April 2015

omg this looks like such a precious movie! My nephew would be in love with this, we all love the animal kingdom here and monkeys are our favorite! This looks like such a great event!!

Ricci

Friday 24th of April 2015

Oh my goodness!! I can not wait to see this movie!!! I'm jealous/excited that you got to see it before everyone else!!

dogvills

Thursday 23rd of April 2015

I can not wait to see this movie. I love when Disney makes these animal films. They are my favorite type of movie to watch.

Rosey

Thursday 23rd of April 2015

I love that Disney donates when you buy a plush. This movie looks great, how fun to go behind the scenes!

Cherri Megasko

Thursday 23rd of April 2015

I love, love, love this! I haven't been to a movie theater in years, but you can bet I will be very soon to see this. I can't wait!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.