Skip to Content

Disney’s The Lion King 4DX Experience at Regal Cinemas – Movie Review

Disney’s The Lion King film is now available for a limited time in Regal Cinema’s 4DX Experience. Experience Disney’s remake of The Lion King with a realistic ride through a classic film. Today I will be sharing my full Film review and well as my honest 4DX Experience.

Disney’s The Lion King 4DX Experience at Regal Cinemas

f you want to fight off hyenas and help take back Pride Rock, catch Disney’s The Lion King in their 4DX experience at a Regal Cinema near you. (Full list of theaters at the bottom of this post.)

Don’t miss any of my latest 4DX Experiences exclusively available at Regal Cinema right here on my blog. Also stay up to date with the latest in the entertainment world by viewing my interviews, movie reviews, and more!

What is the Regal Cinema’s 4DX Experience?

4DX provides moviegoers with an immersive, multi-sensory experience, allowing the audience to connect with movies through motion, vibration, water, wind, snow, lightning, scents, and other special effects that enhance the visuals on-screen.

Each 4DX auditorium incorporates motion-based seating synchronized with more than 20 different effects and optimized by a team of skilled editors, maximizing the feeling of immersion within the movie, beyond the limits of audio and video.

Each film is brought to life with enhanced visuals, sounds bubbles and more! Since every film is different, each 4DX experience is unique. For example, when my family and I saw Disney’s Aladdin film, there were flashing lights and the seats vibrated.

Disney’s The Lion King 4DX Experience at Regal Cinemas – Movie Review

The Lion King Movie Review – Is This Film Kid Friendly?

I think the number one question moms have in mind when it comes to this live remake is ” Is this film kid-friendly?” First off I want to report that this film IS KID FRIENDLY and is almost identical to the animated version. My girls who are 6-years-old and 10-years-old had no issues watching any of the scenes and LOVED the film.

Now to get around to my personal honest review I have to say I am probably the toughest viewer in the room to satisfy. I grew up with the 90’s animated film version and in the casts defense, they had some very big shoes to fill. When it comes to creating an animated film into a real-life version, there is bound to be some changes. In this case, there were a few changes to the film to give it a more cinematic experience. 

THE LION KING – Featuring the voices of JD McCrary as Young Simba and Shahadi Wright Joseph as Young Nala, Disney’s “The Lion King” is directed by Jon Favreau. In theaters July 19, 2019. © 2019 Disney Enterprises, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Did we lose those iconic scenes NO! Thank goodness!

We didn’t miss anything worth seeing in this film and to be honest, I did love the new changes they made. Would I have loved to see the same musical parts of the movie exactly as they were in the animated version? Of course! But let’s be realistic, that would be asking a lot from the creators of the film. Beyonce as always, let her voice shine through without overpowering those moments where we needed to stay focused on the storyline. 

Overall I was very pleased with this film. I loved the Hakuna Matata scene where Simba grows up with his besties Timon and Pumba. It was exactly like the animated version which will give you goosebumps! It made my best friend Danielle cry like a baby in her seat. Yes, she is totally a softy when it comes to these types of remakes or any Disney movie for that matter. 

THE LION KING – Featuring the voices of John Kani as Rafiki, Alfre Woodard as Sarabi and James Earl Jones as Mufasa, Disney’s “The Lion King” is directed by Jon Favreau. In theaters July 19, 2019. © 2019 Disney Enterprises, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

CGI = Realistic

Every scene, in my opinion, grabbed you more than the animated version, where you can see all of the realistic emotions each character would display. The CGI graphics were stellar! It was hard to remember that these were CGI and not real lions and animals being featured. Looking back the Disney’s The Jungle Book remake you can really see how Disney has progressed and really perfected their CGI skills. 

THE LION KING – Featuring the voices of Beyoncé Knowles-Carter as Nala and Donald Glover as Simba, Disney’s “The Lion King” is directed by Jon Favreau. In theaters July 19, 2019. © 2019 Disney Enterprises, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

All The Feels

There were some very emotional scenes that will capture you, such as the scene where Mufasa is killed by Scar. Chills will run through you as you really hurt for Simba and see how Scar just really gives no ****’s. Nala and Simba’s reunion was so precious and oh my goodness I much prefer this remakes version of their reuniting scene. I do feel as though the remake focused more on bringing these emotions to the surface without sacrificing the overall storyline. Bravo Disney BRAVO! You made Danielle cry and captured my little girl’s hearts.

THE LION KING – Featuring the voices of JD McCrary as Young Simba, Billy Eichner as Timon and Seth Rogen as Pumbaa, Disney’s “The Lion King” is directed by Jon Favreau. In theaters July 19, 2019. © 2019 Disney Enterprises, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

4DX Experience Review

I cannot stress enough how important it is to see this film with Regal Cinema’s 4DX experience! Seriously guys, if you want to feel as though you are in the film or just experiencing it first hand, grab your tickets! The audience soared with Zazoo, fought off hyenas with Pumba.

And gave us the honor of being a real-life witness to Simba taking his rightful place as king on Pride rock. It rained in the theater yall! Not a pouring down rain, but a light sprinkle that really brought the whole experience together.

I honestly don’t know how I can watch another film without having the 4DX experience, in the words of my bestie “I’ve been spoiled and don’t know if I can go back!.” If you have ever gone to a theme park and went on a virtual reality ride, this is exactly what you will get with this experience. Except all you have to do is head to your nearest hosting Regal Cinema!

THE LION KING – Featuring the voices of Florence Kasumba, Eric André and Keegan-Michael Key as the hyenas, and Chiwetel Ejiofor as Scar, Disney’s “The Lion King” is directed by Jon Favreau. In theaters July 19, 2019. © 2019 Disney Enterprises, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Let’s Talk About Scar

Okay so Scar featured in the animated version was this very dark villainous character that was famous for his dark mane and scar on his face. In The Lion King Remake, we don’t get that extremely dark mane (however is it dark in color) or those crazy facial movements that were in the animated version.

To say the least, they made the scar more realistic as if you saw him on the Savana chasing after defenseless field mice. Scar does sing his iconic villainous song in this remake, however, it is changed up a little which I didn’t mind.

THE LION KING – Featuring the voices of JD McCrary and Chiwetel Ejiofor as Scar, Disney’s “The Lion King” is directed by Jon Favreau. In theaters July 19, 2019. © 2019 Disney Enterprises, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

What To Look Forward To

The biggest thing to look out for while watching “The Lion King” in 4DX is its magical ‘Savanna Riding’ motion design, engineered to capture the African wildlife’s dynamic movements in the most exciting ways. The Pride Land and its wild animals, re-imaged in real life, have met with 4DX to give moviegoers of all ages, the majestic feeling of roaming the vast Savanna with the wildlife.

Also, one of the film’s highlight scenes in which Simba and Nala are chased by a pack of hyenas. Breathtaking visuals, a touching story that transcends the flow of time, classic songs by some of the best artists, and 4DX have all come together to create what will no doubt be Disney’s most spectacular show to date.

The rumble and roar of African wildlife will knock on your heart through 4DX motion chair beats while the upbeat rhythm of Simba running through the jungle and striding on the famous Pride Rock will arouse movie fan’s nostalgia from classic Lion King Musical. 

Regal Cinema 4DX Experience Seats. Dumbo flies into theaters on March 29, 2019.

What To Expect with Disney’s The Lion King:

  The wildebeest stampede scene: fog, wind, motion + vibration, and air shots – capturing the suspense, chairs following the thunderous movements

  • The mighty roar of Mufasa: vibration + motion
  • ·Scent: capturing the scents of the safari plains, the ominous elephant graveyard, the umami of the bugs in the logs, and the iconic waterfall from the famous Hakuna Matata scene
  • Experience the thrill of the hunt through the wind, motion + vibration, scent, capturing the speed and agility of the lions
  • Iconic “Hakuna Matata” scene: chairs dance along to the song – heave, pitch, and vibration plus when they cross the waterfall, there’s also water + scent with the motions
  • For “The Lions Sleeps Tonight” the vibration and motion of the chair gently rocks along to the beat of ‘Wimoweh’
  • 4DX captures little details of the animals of the kingdom – vibrations of a rhino snort, galloping motion of antelopes running
A FUTURE KING IS BORN – In Disney’s all-new “The Lion King,” Simba idolizes his father, King Mufasa, and takes to heart his own royal destiny. Featuring JD McCrary and Donald Glover as young Simba and Simba, “The Lion King” roars into U.S. theaters on July 19, 2019. ©2019 Disney Enterprises, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

*Disclosure: If your child has sensory sensitivities please be advised this 4DX experience includes.*

  • Flashing lights
  • The seats will move
  • Air will shoot out next to your head
  • The seats will vibrate and tickle you
  • The seats tilt back and forth
  • There is a possibility of there being spurts of smells (ie. Bananas)
  • It is possible to be sprayed with water (You can turn this feature off per seat if you wish)
  • There might be fog or bubbles 

4DX Theater Locations:

  • Regal LA Live – USA (Los Angeles, CA) 
  • CGV Buena Park – USA (Buena Park, CA) 
  • Cinepolis Pico Rivera – USA (Pico Rivera, CA) 
  • Cinepolis Vista Pointe – USA (Vista, CA) 
  • Regal, Union Square – USA (New York, NY) 
  • Regal E-Walk – USA (New York, NY)
  • Regal Pointe Orlando – USA (Orlando, FL) 
  • Regal Avenues 20- Jacksonville – USA (Jacksonville, FL) 
  • Regal Seattle Meridian – USA (Seattle, WA) 
  • Edwards Houston Marq*e – USA (Houston, TX) 
  • Regal Gallery Place – USA (Washington, DC) 
  • Marcus Gurnee Mills Cinema – USA (Gurnee, IL) 
  • Cineplex Cinemas Yonge-Dundas – CANADA (Toronto, ON) 

About CJ 4DPLEX

CJ 4DPLEX is a leading, next-generation cinema technology company, headquartered in Seoul with international offices in Los Angeles and Beijing. The company has created immersive film technologies for theaters worldwide that include ‘4DX’, ‘ScreenX’ and ‘4DX with ScreenX’ for consumers to experience films in ways that were never before possible.

ScreenX is the world’s first multi-projection theater technology used within a theatre setting, marking it as the most visually immersive theater experience of CJ 4DPLEX. ScreenX allows moviegoers to go beyond the frame of the movie screen by utilizing a proprietary system that expands images of feature films and pre-show advertising to the left and right walls of the theatre, creating an immersive, panoramic, 270-degree viewing experience.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Abominable Movie Review - 4DX Experience at Regal Cinema - Jays Sweet N Sour Life

Friday 14th of May 2021

[…] Disney’s The Lion King 4DX Experience at Regal Cinemas – Movie Review […]

Frozen 2 Movie Review - 4DX Experience at Regal Cinema - Jays Sweet N Sour Life

Thursday 28th of January 2021

[…] Disney’s The Lion King 4DX Experience at Regal Cinemas – Movie Review […]

Angry Birds Movie 2 4DX Experience at Regal Cinemas | Movie Review

Wednesday 21st of August 2019

[…] Disney’s The Lion King 4DX Experience at Regal Cinemas – Movie Review […]

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.